A Better Baked Potato

20 Jul

I am so boring today.

Workouts, child-rearing, laundry folding, bill paying, Warrior Dash + “Dirty 30” party excitement building.

Thunderstorms all night and still going on when I finally gave up and got up at 5AM. Humid. I kind of love it. Justifies this:

20120720-144827.jpg

My hot morning standard, lately: Strawberry Chobani and Great Harvest Groovy Granola.

20120720-145025.jpg

Last nights dinner leftovers = today’s lunch. Minus fries. Not because I’m saintly, but because I didn’t feel like waiting the 60 minutes it takes to make them before eating and I have to eat burgers and fries together. Always. Separate is just sad and wrong. To me, anyway.

20120720-145115.jpg

3pm rolled around and all I wanted was a fully-loaded baked potato. Maybe it’s the anticipation of county fair season, maybe it’s hormonal (sorry, boys), maybe it’s because I really missed the fries at lunch.  I don’t know, but the craving was all-consuming. So I made one. Fortunately, I had the good sense to tweak it.

Better Baked Potato

  • 1/4c Daisy Sour Cream
  •  3/4c plain 0% Fage Greek Yogurt
  • 3/4c green onions
  • 3-4 oz Cabot 75% Reduced Fat Sharp Cheddar
  • Salt, pepper to taste
  • Tiny splash of Frank’s Red Hot

Mix. This makes a lot because like yesterday’s tartar sauce, the longer this sits, the better it gets. Within reason. About 1 week. Don’t keep it for 3 months and then blame me for your intestinal problems.

Plop 3ish Tbs on your (dry, small) baked potato and enjoy a little guiltless comfort food.

20120720-150559.jpg

20120720-150911.jpg

Now if I could just find a substitute for waffle cones, corn dogs, and ferris wheels.

Leave a Reply

