Eat More Kale

27 Aug

Kale seems to be the “it” vegetable this summer. Everyone I know seems to be growing it, every stand at the farmer’s market seems to be overflowing with it, and every (ok, not every, but most) foodie blogs seem to be raving about it. As a bandwagon jumper, I’ve been eating my share of it. I like to fit in. Sue me.

Don’t think you’ll like it? I didn’t. But I kept trying it (cause I just want to fit in, remember?). This recipe takes all that tough kale-ness out of kale and instead transforms the somewhat bitter greens into tender, garlicky, goodness. It’s not my recipe and I won’t pretend it is. I just tweaked it. I couldn’t find pecorino cheese (huh?) and prefer walnuts, not almonds, in meatless pasta dishes. Original recipe can be found here.

Garlic Kale and Walnut Spaghetti

  • 6  ounces  whole wheat spaghetti
  • 2  tablespoons  extra virgin olive oil
  • 1  thinly sliced red onion
  • 2  cloves garlic, minced
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1 bunch kale, stems removed, torn into pieces (about 8 cups)
  • 2  pints  halved grape tomatoes
  • 1/3  cup  chopped walnuts
  • 1/4  cup  grated Parmesan

Directions (from realsimple.com)

  1. Cook the pasta according to the package directions. Reserve ¼ cup of the cooking water, drain the pasta, and return it to the pot.
  2. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the onion, garlic, ¼ teaspoon salt, and ⅛ teaspoon pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until beginning to brown, 4 to 5 minutes. Add the kale and cook, tossing frequently, until tender, 2 to 3 minutes. Add the tomatoes and cook, tossing frequently, until the tomatoes begin to soften, 1 to 2 minutes more.
  3. Add the kale mixture, almonds (or walnuts), pecorino (Parmesan), and reserved cooking water to the pasta and toss to combine.

Image

Image

After a particularly grueling day, I decided to add 1 fried egg for a nutrient boost. Took this dish to the next level. Try it. I’m not weird. Right?!

3 Responses to “Eat More Kale”

  1. Kates August 27, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    I am cooking illiterate, so what does “kosher” mean?

    • Jess August 27, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

      I honestly don’t know. I used sea salt. I don’t think it matters too much?

      • Kates August 27, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

        🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

