7 Days Of Salads: Day 2: Spicy Shrimp and Pumpkin Caesar Salad

11 Sep

Today’s salad was born out of a craving that I cannot explain. I was at Trader Joe’s (weird, I know) and thought “Omg, I cannot eat any more chicken. Ooh! Shrimp!” Followed by, “God, I love pumpkin seeds,” and “I really liked that spicy Caesar salad I had at Casa Mia that one time.” I shouldn’t be letting you in on my thoughts. Eh, hindsight is always 20/20. Anyway, you’re going to make this (or stop by and share mine because Wes took one look at the kitchen, gagged, “That’s not dinner, right?” mumbled something about never getting Hamburger Helper, and promptly left), eat this, and realize everything you know about Caesar-salad is wrong. Or not. Whatever. I wolfed it down.

Before I get to the salad, can we just take a minute to talk about Trader Joe’s Olive Loaf. Seriously. Seriously. A little olive oil and balsamic. Insane.

Okay. Salad time.

Spicy Shrimp and Pumpkin Caesar Salad

Serves 3-4

  • 2 heads romaine, washed and ribbon-ed. Or ripped into bit-size pieces. I like to be fancy.
  • 8-12 large, raw, wild shrimp , peeled and de-veined
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 (or more) tsp red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • spicy pumpkin seeds
  • bottled Caesar (I love Ken’s)
  • Sun-dried tomatoes (optional)

Put garlic, oil, shrimp, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper into large skillet and cook over medium-high heat until shrimp is pink.

  • Put romaine, dressing, and tomatoes in gallon-sized ziplock and shake for even coating.
  • Plate, top with shrimp, and a sprinkling of pumpkin seeds.

Now, to stay out of that olive loaf . . . It just pairs so perfectly. Ugh. Hard.

Tomorrow: Creamy, Crunchy Kale Salad.

Have a goodnight!

Leave a Reply

