7 Days of Salads: Day 4: Goodbye Summer BBQ Chicken and Sweet Corn Salad

13 Sep

I have a confession: I love pizza. Love it. Especially brick oven style and especially smothered in bbq sauce, chicken, caramelized onions, provolone and jack cheeses . . . drool.  Or homemade. I should do 7 Days of Pizza next. And change my blog name. Totally.

Focus, Jess.

This salad comes close to satisfying those cravings. Well, as close as a salad can, I suppose.

Remember those BBQ boneless, skinless chicken breasts I told you to make Monday? Don’t tell me you don’t always have/don’t like bbq’d chicken because I do not even understand those words. Anyway, you’re going to use it again here. We did the vegan thing yesterday. We did the seafood thing Tuesday. Now we’re back to chicken – ’cause there’s leftovers and I hate being wasteful. Especially when it comes to one of my favorite foods.

Goodbye Summer BBQ Chicken and Sweet Corn Salad

serves 1 (because I am so sick of eating leftover salads for dinner all by my sorry self)

  • 3 cup shredded romaine
  • 1/4 small red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 small clove of garlic, minced
  • handful sweet cherry tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup sweet white corn
  • 3 oz boneless, skinless BBQ chicken breast
  • 1 oz shredded Monterey Jack cheese (Provolone more than works, too. Or both, if you have ’em!)
  • 1/4 medium-sized Hass avocado (I really, really love avocados – have you noticed yet?)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Place corn, red onions, garlic, tomatoes, and shredded chicken in small skillet, season with salt and pepper, and saute over medium heat until onions are caramelized, tomatoes are just starting to split, and corn is tender – this only takes a few minutes. Watch the pan and adjust accordingly.

Shred the cheese, dice the avocado, plate the romaine, and heap the hot stuff on top. You don’t even need dressing – truly a miracle in the world of salads.

Add a touch more BBQ sauce, if you need it. I did.

**No more chicken this week – I swear!
Leave a Reply

