7 Days of Salads: Day 6: Sweet & Spicy Potato Pecan Salad

15 Sep

So, I “cleaned” my oven today. Or rather, I pushed the “self-clean” button, watched the thing fill up with smoke (because for some reason I wait until the oven is bordering on unsafe to use before I decide to take action), and set off the smoke detector, all while talking on the phone to my darling friend – thus piercing his ears, as well. I thought I disabled it. I clearly did not. Anyway, all that aside, I decided to celebrate my now-clean oven and the chill in the fall-like air with roasted sweet potatoes. In a salad. ‘Cause I promised 7 days of salads and I am going to deliver, darn it.

No meat today. Only pecans. And goat cheese. And mmmmmm.

Sweet & Spicy Potato Pecan Salad

serves 2

  • 6 cups mixed field greens
  • 1/4 Red onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 oz Trader Joe’s Sweet & Spicy Pecans
  • 2 oz goat cheese
  • 1 small apple, sliced or diced
  • 1 roasted sweet potato, cubed
  • Drizzle of balsamic vinegar

For the sweet potato:
Wash, dry, then cut into 1 inch cubes. Toss with about 1 Tbs olive oil, place on parchment-lined cookie sheet in a single layer. Season with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and smoked paprika (best. seasoning. ever.), to taste. Bake at 450 for 25-35 minutes.

For the salad:
Toss it all together. Drizzle with balsamic. Eat.

20120915-151250.jpg

20120915-151442.jpg

20120915-151456.jpg
Hope you all are having a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

