Snack Sized

9 Nov

Nibbling. Grazing. Tasting.

Snacks happen.

Especially on Netflix nights/afternoons/whateverIfeellikeitokay and especially when the house is otherwise empty and there are no picky mouths to cater to. I KNOW that’s not just me. Moms and dads? Yeah, you know what I’m talking about. And some days I’m just straight-up hungrier than others. It depends. My point is: I do snack. And there’s nothing wrong with that.

The key to snacking is to eat enough to be satisfied, yet not enough to be considered an additional meal. Shoot for between 100-200 nutrient-rich calories. Fiber is filling, so use that to your advantage!

Some people eat 4-6 mini meals a day. I’m not one of them. I like to cook ridiculous meals (did you notice?) and the standard 3-a-day works best for me and my household. It’s all a matter of preference.

Here are a few of my staple-snacks:

Wasa (or other whole grain, low cal cracker), 1/3 avocado, salt.

Wasa (etc), 1-2 Tbs soft cheese (I like goat), tomato, cucumber, salt & pepper

2 Tbs hummus and raw vegetables

Yogurt (none of that artificial nonsense, please!)

Apple with 1 Tbs almond butter and cinnamon.

Sometimes, just a cup of fruit will do. It’s not cake, I know. But cake is infinitely better when it’s eaten only once in a while anyway.


Happy Friday! And happy snacking!

Leave a Reply

