Not-Quite-So-Restful “Rest Day”

20 Dec

I had a rest day planned, originally. I woke up sore and tired and cranky. Usually by the end of my warm-up I know whether or not I’m going to workout. It just wasn’t happening, so I didn’t push it. Instead, I decided to have a day of active rest (NOT lounging around like a slug kind of rest) with really good, hearty meals. Sometimes that’s all a person needs.

Breakfast: Scrambled eggs (2 whole + 1 white) with tomatoes and spinach, Dave’s Good Seed with a smear of butter, coffee.

004

Lunch: Panera Fuji Apple Chicken Salad with 1/3 dressing and piece of wholegrain baguette. **Note: If I could afford to eat this everyday I would. Just another thing I’m currently obsessed with….

024Lime La Croix. I was desperately craving Sprite, this took the edge off and gave me my bubble fix.

006

Afternoon snack: It was miserable out and I was out and I passed 3 different Starbucks on my way home and things happened. Tall nonfat caramel macchiato. Dee-lish.

003

Dinner: Fresh water shrimp, sauteed with garlic, a little butter, and creole seasoning. Whole grain spaghetti, baby spinach.

167Around 8pm – I felt like I needed to sweat. Threw on my sweats, laced up my shoes, and busted out a 10 Minute AMRAP (As Many Rounds As Possible).

  • 10 Santana Burpees
  • 10 3-pulse squat tuck jumps
  • 30 crab toe touches
  • 20 lowjacks

Cooled down, showered again, and made myself a protein shake to help muscles heal overnight and reduce soreness. Works like a charm most of the time. 😉

  • 2 scoops vanilla whey protein
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/4 cup fresh orange juice
  • water
  • ice

011

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

