Huge Salads. No Dressing Required.

19 Nov

I eat at least 1 salad a day. At least. I love having a monster bowl of veggies – especially for lunch – so if veggies don’t happen later, it’s not a big deal. The 3 I’ve been scarfing lately are probably the best I’ve ever made/eaten. I know I say that a lot, but I mean it this time. Also note: I rarely use salad dressings. My salads have so much goin’ on, they don’t need it 😉

Lentil and Feta

LENTILFETA

  • field greens
  • steamed (cold) lentils
  • sheep’s milk feta (omg I’m obsessed)
  • tomato
  • avocado
  • bell peppers
  • hummus

Spinach Taco Salad

500

  • Mix of spinach and romaine
  • grilled, taco-seasoned, skinless chicken breast (left over from taco night)
  • organic sweet corn
  • tomato
  • sheep’s milk feta
  • sauteed sweet onion
  • raw pumpkin seeds
  • drizzle of salsa or hot sauce

Gorgonzola Pear

537

  • Field greens
  • 1 oz crumbled gorgonzola
  • 2 Tbs chopped cashews
  • 1 Tbs of bacon crumbles – HOT
  • 1/2 d’anjou pear, diced

“Salad Bar At Home”

245

  • Mix of field greens and romaine
  • tomatoes
  • red onion
  • organic sweet corn
  • shredded carrots
  • raw sunflower seeds
  • pickled beets
  • yellow bell pepper rings

Now your salads are no longer drowning in dressing. I know. I love Ranch too. But Ranch is not an everyday food.

**A friendly reminder from your personal trainer: Protein is important! Did you lift heavy today? Burn yourself out with some HIIT? Take a long run? Brutal yoga session? Add some grilled chicken breast or a couple scrambled eggs to turn these salads (with the exception of the spinach taco) into full-for-hours meals.

Post-Workout Example: gorgonzola pear WITH whole-grain Rye toast, scrambled eggs (1 whole, 2 whites)

545Happy Tuesday!

Up next: Protein Powders: How to Choose the Right One for You

Leave a Reply

