Impossibly Easy Brown Rice + Smoked Salmon Sushi Rolls

13 Jan

Ok. When I say something is “easy,” I mean it. The hardest part about these sushi rolls? Getting them perfectly round. I’m gonna start by saying, with enough practice, our rolls will be round someday. The shape does not take away from the taste, and if you ask me, any rolls made by little 5-year-old hands are perfectly adorable every time.

I followed this recipe from Epicurious to make my brown rice (Lundberg’s! Always!) sticky.

You will need:

  • brown rice (LUNDBERGS)
  • Rice vinegar
  • Nori sheets
  • Wasabi powder (optional)
  • Braggs liquid aminos (optional, but recommended. By me.)
  • A bamboo sushi rolling mat (they’re super cheap and available at most kitchen stores. I got mine in a sushi-making kit from Ikea.)
  • plastic wrap

For fillings, we used:

  • smoked salmon
  • avocado
  • cucumber
  • carrot
  • green onion
  • cream cheese (in Mikayla’s)
  • Mayo (in Max’s. gaaaaah)
  • Braggs liquid aminos (instead of soy sauce)

20140113-083634.jpg

20140113-083709.jpg

20140113-083746.jpg

Stuff it. Do not over-stuff it. Experiment.

20140113-083815.jpg

Roll it.

20140113-083856.jpg

Slice it. Use a SHARP knife. these are delicate and smoosh easily.

20140113-083914.jpg

Scarf. They will be gone in record time. Ours were, anyway.

How easy is that? I’m really excited to now know I can have any kind of sushi I want, any time I want, without having to put on pants and leave the house.  I’m even considering using nori sheets for extra-healthy wraps. OH YES.

Leave a Reply

