Coffee, Cravings, and Core

2 Apr

For the first time in as long as I can remember, I had the whole morning off. So after dropping the kids at school (for their tiny little 2.5 hours), I ate and got my workout out of the way.

Breakfast/pre-workout: Coffee (half and half, cinnamon, dark cocoa powder), 1 fried egg, 2 handfuls spinach, diced tomato.

20140402-083629.jpg

Workout: P90x Shoulders + Arms

Post-Workout Snack:

20140402-102119.jpg
Roasted red pepper hummus (mixed with nutritional yeast), cucumbers, mini peppers, and whole wheat pita chips. As you all can probably see: I shop within a budget (don’t we all) and try to incorporate everything until it’s all gone. I really dislike food waste…and find this weekly-planning approach wastes much less green from my wallet, too 😉

A few errands, house-tidying and yard work later, lunch:

20140402-120952.jpg
Applegate Farms turkey on Mack’s Flax with lettuce, tomato, onion, cucumber, mustard, a side salad – no dressing -with 1/4 avocado and 1 tsp raw sunflower seeds, and a few salt & black pepper kettle chips.

More coffee. 1 Tbs half and half, cinnamon.

After conferences and a dog walk, I found myself hungry enough for a snack before leaving to meet clients.

20140402-151349.jpg
I wanted an apple and cheese…when I was  informed my darling 5 year old had eaten the last one. Not that I was upset about “having” to settle for cheese and crackers!

Also, the kids are doing fantastic in school and socially. PROUD mom. They are pretty great, I must admit.

20140402-152441.jpg

Dinner tonight was pure luck. Freezer stew to the rescue! I had completely forgotten about it. Very pleasant surprise. Slapped it in the crockpot around noon. Perfect by 6. I did manage to make side salads. Well, toss romaine in a little Annie’s Caesar and then top with rye croutons. It counts.

20140402-153211.jpg

20140402-180954.jpg
So good.

After dinner I really wanted something sweet. Had a glass of water, no change. Decided to walk the dog again, since it was so nice out and all anyway. We did our 2-mile neighborhood loop at a pretty good pace.

20140402-190532.jpg
Followed by NTC Core Crunch.

 

20140402-190715.jpg
Ooof. It worked. I really can’t stress enough the power of distraction when the cravings come calling. Tell yourself “I’ll do (something healthy) first, and then if I still want some…” and then DO exactly whatever that thing is. Chances are after a good walk, mini workout, or meditation, the craving will have passed. I speak as a woman who has mega salt/sugar cravings from time to time. Be aware of your triggers, recognize the behavior, and tweak your approach. I know what it’s like to feel out of control, but a breath, a glass of water, and an activity can help you tremendously in working towards change. I also like to remind myself there is nothing worse than laying in bed with an uncomfortably full stomach. Ugh.

The rest of the evening? A hot 2nd shower, a big glass of milk, and a good book.

And this little blog.

Leave a Reply

