Drink Your Veggies

3 Apr

Woke up so hungry today. Like, stomach grumbling, can’t focus on anything but getting food, hungry.

20140403-122321.jpg
4 eggs (1 whole, 3 whites), 1/2oz Kerrygold Irish Cheddar, 2 handfuls spinach, 1 cutie with and another about 10 minutes later.

Dropped the kids off at school and got my stretch on.

Workout: P90X Yoga. So. Much. Sweat. And swearing.

Picked up the kids – these early 1/2 days are ridiculous!- and quickly went from “kinda hungry again” to famished. Very likely from a combination of reasons: hormonal (tmi?), switching up my workout routine, general increase of busyness in business and everyday life.

I’ve found the best way to combat these days is to eat a big, satisfying lunch. I cannot stand feeling hungry all day.

20140403-123452.jpg
Turkey sandwich: Mack’s Flax, 1/4 smooshed avocado, lettuce, tomato, cucumber, sweet onion, salt and pepper. With (a 1/2 serving!) Boulder Canyon Hickory BBQ chips and 1 pickle spear.

And other cup of coffee, with a splash of 2%, cinnamon.

I think I should mention too: I drink A LOT of water throughout the day. Usually 4ish of these:

20140403-124024.jpg
I take it with me everywhere, so I’m never without and so I remember to drink it!

A couple clients and 4 loads of laundry later….

snack time again.

20140403-152606.jpg

WW pita chips, hummus+nutritional yeast, peppers, sharp cheddar. Why the nutritional yeast? First, it gives the hummus a kind of cheesy flavor that I really love. Second, nutritional yeast is a fantastic source of B vitamins, selenium, zinc, folic acid, and protein. Third, it’s lovingly referred to as “hippie fairy dust” and I really dig that.

Can’t forget a side of juicer-fresh green juice: kale, apple, spinach, cucumber, lime, mint, parsley.

20140403-154201.jpg

Buying a juicer was one of the better decisions I’ve made in the last 2 years. Nothing beats fresh juice and it really does improve my mood and energy. The combinations are endless. I have a lot of produce, so expect to see a lot of juice around here. Take notes. 🙂

Dinner:

20140403-182958.jpg

Turkey/oat meatloaf, baked reds, steamed broccoli. This is the kids’ favorite dinner and so easy and hearty, how can I say no when they request it? I feel like I’d be a bad mom if I was like, “Uuuuugh, meatloaf and broccoli again…?” Sometimes I feel like the kid, I swear.

After kitchen-cleanup…

dessert!

20140403-185759.jpg
2 Thin Mints, 2% milk.

Bed.

Is tomorrow really Friday? Aaaaaaahhh.

Leave a comment